Borden Memorial Forest

Projects at the BMFPictures from the BMFContact Information Links for more information



1984-June 28th, 2009: Borden Memorial Forest (BMF) Chief Forester, Logging Superintendent, Chief Executive Officer and only employee

Member of the 2007 Colorado State Forestry Advisory Board

Tom and Rogene host the State Foresters Convention, in Steamboat Springs.1959-1984: Colorado State Forest Service, Director

President of (SAF) Society of American Foresters.
Membership: 1952

President of (NASF) National Association of State Foresters

Recipient of the John A. Beale Memorial Award for the Society of American Foresters (SAF) and the John Aston Warder Medal, named for the founder of the American Forestry Association (AFA).

American Forestry Association (AFA) Vice president

1982 Created the Colorado Forestry Association

1971 - Designing Tomorrow Today (DT2) was formed. Tom was asked to serve as chairman of the Environmental Task Force. This year-long voluntary, community-service job was one taken quite seriously, not only by the members but community leaders as well. In the end, the report and recommendations were rated top-priority for DT2 and later by the City of Fort Collins. A major recommendation was the establishment of a trail system along the Poudre River and Spring Creek. In the 1980s, the trail system was in place and being expanded.

1964-1968: Served on the Cooperative Forest Fire Prevention Committee (CFFP) and/or the Smokey Bear Committee.

1958-1959: Producer, director and principal performer in "Black Hills Outdoors."
The point of taking the time to tell of his experience with KOTA-TV, Tom says,
."I expanded on my thoughts by citing forest management, fire protection, wildlife management, a visit to the Rapid City fish hatchery, a program on the Mount Rushmore National Monument, the programs of the Black Hills National Forest, and other opportunities."

In the News:
Thursday, October 13, 2005
The Colorado State Forest Service celebrated its 50th anniversary with a dedication of its new headquarters Thursday, Oct. 13 at the Colorado State University Foothills campus. The new building was named for the agency's director emeritus, Thomas B. Borden, who led the agency from 1959 to 1984. Current Colorado State Forester, Jeff Jahnke, and Colorado State University President Larry Edward Penley opened the building with a ceremonial tree planting of Colorado's state tree, a blue spruce.


1998-2013 All rights reserved.